Reducing Waste #1

Something I have wanted to do for a long time is reduce the amount of waste that I produce. Taking care of the environment and the world around me is something that I am passionate about and I believe that the first steps that we need to make to change the destructive nature of humanity is firstly, in ourselves and our homes.

Unfortunately, I let life get in the way and put the idea of reducing the waste that I produce on the back burner, as if for some reason it shouldn’t be a priority. When I woke up today I decided that enough was enough (as good as it feels to ‘boycott straws’ I knew I had to start doing more), it’s time to step it up and start taking steps to ‘reduce, reuse, recycle’ (does this work here? I just had to throw that phrase in somewhere right?). Along with starting to compile a list of all the different ways I can start to actively reduce waste within my life I included a trip to Bunnings.

Todays little project was a very small step on the way to become waste free but an important one. Each week when my partner and I go food shopping we buy, on average one pack of fresh herbs. Not only is this a huge waste of money (have you seen the price of basil!?) I can’t help but think of every plastic container that these herbs are sold in is completely unnecessary and so wasteful, in light of this, my partner and I have decided to create our own herb garden in the back yard.

I was really surprised at how cheap and easy it was to set up. For around $60 (12 weeks worth of store bought herbs) we bought potting mix, 7 terracotta pots and 7 different types of herbs. In our backyard we now have; Rosemary, Thyme, Lemon Thyme, Mint, Coriander, flat leaf Parsley and Oregano. I know its such a small step in becoming waste free but it’s the first of many and one thats only going to make cooking at home that much better!

If you’ve got any tips or tricks in going waste free that you want to share, leave a comment or hit me up on insta. Peace x

One thought on “Reducing Waste #1

  1. Good luck on your waste reduction journey! It’s a bit like dieting- don’t try and change your entire lifestyle in one go as it won’t be sustainable, I’ve found more success with small but continual changes.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

